Cornton Goes His Separate Ways

Sometimes I just have to stop and say a big “thank you” to my life for all the great characters I come across on my journey. One of them is my best buddy Anton, whom I’ve known for many a year and shared many a wonder with. I can’t even begin to describe what a good man he is. Anyone who has met him will know what I mean. What can I say, I hope you meet him one day, he will brighten your world without the shadow of a doubt.

For the last 4 months we’ve shared everything but sex to put it frankly. Our friend Corrie, with her lovely talent for teasing, calls us Cornton, and we have merged into some kind of twin-creature: All the time seeking advice from each other, working together, owning a car together, eating every meal together, saying the same lame jokes to each other and working out every challenge ahead as a team.

Now where did that image go?

This photo was taken at the Eclipse Festival in North Queensland, 2012, by a Japanese photographer using an analogue camera. He promised to send the picture by mail once he had developed the film back in Japan. I never thought he would, but hey, some people are just awesome like that.

I don’t think I’ve ever spent so much intense time with anyone and had so little arguing and so much mutual support. It’s been a great ride and a learning experience, driven by a shared apetite for life; for living and understanding it.

Alas, even good times must pass and now Anton’s visa has run out. I’m confidently looking forward to seeing his broad smile again some day somewhere on the planet. Until then, peace be upon you brother, may you wander and wonder well and come back with a tale to tell.

See you out there, somewhere, some day.

PS: Say hello to the Himalayas from me, tell them I said to look after you. No broken bones, alright?

 

 

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

