My Worst Fears…

Traveling is dangerous. Mothers and insurance companies will tell you that. I have both, and I can tell you that it is indeed true; traveling is dangerous. All kinds of tourist-targetting thugs, creapy creatures, devilish diseases and corrupted cops are out there to get you.

Now where did that image go?

Not to mention the “drop-bears”!

Australia has all of the above and then some. This is the kind of land where you knock your boots in the morning and walk with heavy steps at night. It is creepy-crawly country. It is also catastrophe country. Roads, buildings, cars, yourself – all of it is subject to heavy floods, wildfire, cyclones and the like.

Even partying is apprently dangerous in Australia. 8 days from now, I will be at the Eclipse 2012 festival in Northen Queensland out in the bush somewhere. Until a few days ago, all I knew about this festival was that there will be a complete solar eclipse, the music will be great, the company outstanding and I get to volunteer in the backstage area!

Now where did that image go?But then I had a look on their website. They had just uploaded a survival guide. Not a safety-pamphlet about dodging dehydration and dangerous drugs like we’re used to from festivals around the globe. No, they uploaded a survival guide and they are not kidding…

On their list of dangerous animals you will find just about everything from crocodiles and feral pigs (!) to poisonous spiders and a whole selection of deadly snakes. “Bring enough water for your own consumption and don’t stray away from the festival site, you may not make it back – seriously”. This kind of information is somehow not really compatible with my images of a relaxed event with dancing in the night and hanging out in the grass during the day.

At the end of the day, though; life is dangerous too. It is risky business to be alive. In fact, life is certan to have a fatal outcome. Traveling happens to be a large part of my life, but it doesn’t make my life anymore dangerous than if I stayed at home. It just means that I get to enjoy a greater variety of dangers.

But even though I am scared of stuff when I travel, my worst fears are not about falling ill, dying or being mugged – my worst fears are about you! Almost every day I think about the awful possibility of one of my loved ones (you know who you are) needing my help while I am far far away.

There is a measure of antcipating regret in this fear. That is simply no good. What you think becomes your reality. (If you don’t believe me, go ahead and think up some angry and horrible thoughts and see what happens. No good.) So the challenge for me is to redirect my fear and remember why I am afraid in the first place. It is because I love.

Instead of worrying, I try to recall the good times spent with you and simply feeling gratitude for knowing you. And I aspire to trust fully that you are being taken care of by your fate and your faith. In other words, The Universe Provides. It certainly does for me.

So stay safe out there, but if you get in trouble, do let me know. In this modern day and age, I’m at least often just a phone call away.

And Keep Dreaming!

cornelius

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. migselv101
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 20:42:41

    I hear you my good friend. you speak the truth as you see it, and right on point.
    So good to hear someone just put it out there. thank you for the stories, they really keep me in these cold Danish winter month, where nothing much is happening. Well except that Enu keeps on growing and his world is expanding.

    Lots of love your way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

