Getting A Paint-Job

On the magnificent Gum Tree website  I came across a job as a house painter. Sure, I have painted houses before, but how to apply..? I came up with this:

Hi there,

We’ve just spoken on the phone and so this is just for you to have my details etc. on “paper”. (Read: I really need the money)

My name is Cornelius, I am a Danish man – 32 years of age – who is looking for temp jobs in Byron Bay Area. (I’m probably leaving soon)

I hold a Working Holiday Visa and I am eager to earn some cash before heading North to look for a more permanent position. (Bogus excuse that sounds respectable but really is a festival)

I have substantial experience with house-painting and other tasks pertaining to building and renovation. (Now there’s a nice ambiguous word – substantial)

I am used to working on my own and I am a reliable and hard worker (never been fired) with experience in many different sectors, i.e. a Jack-Of-All-Trades. (Just trust me, I can do it. Anything. Please.)

I am known to be a very sociable and service-minded person who gets the job done without delay or quarrel. (Ain’t nothin’ to it, but to do it!)

If you hire me I can guarantee you that I will be doing my very best to make your customers happy with your services. (Exactly what kind of guarantee am I on about?)

You can contact me on my mobile or alternatively on my email.

Thank you for your time and looking forward to hearing from you!

All the best

Cornelius

I actually got the job (good omen) but opted for going to Nimbin instead to try my luck there. Seems like Australia is the place to be for a Jack-Of-All-Trades with not a single paper to prove my skills – wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

